StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Beginner: Having so much trouble spinning

• Beginner: Having so much trouble spinning

Posted by musings on February 4, 2012 at 2:19 pm

Hey guys- I'm a complete beginner (just started pole last week). I just had my second class today and I'm having SO MUCH trouble spinning. The only spin I can do is the fireman and when my instructor tried to teach my any other pole move, I honestly couldn't do it. When I let go of my legs I felt like I literally PULLED my shoulder out of the socket.

Right now my shoulder is better (and I have a pole at home) so I've been trying to get over my lack of spinning ability @ home but its really REALLY frustrating me.

1) Why do I keep pulling my shoulder? What am I doing wrong?

2) How can I improve? What spin should I start on instead?

I am able to pole climb and pole sit fine. I got all the way up to the top of the pole today in class (yey) and can do a pole sit without hands (but I've found all the weight there is on the top of your foot). So is it that I don't have enough upper arm strength or what?

<3 Frustrated…

Veena replied 12 years, 7 months ago 10 Members · 17 Replies
  • 17 Replies
  • LindaLu

February 4, 2012 at 2:35 pm

Hi and welcome 🙂

It sounds like you need to do some shoulder specific conditioning work. Veena's conditioning lessons on here are great.  You really need to be careful with shoulders. They are very easily injured and have a long recovery time.  Always be sure you are holding your shoulders back and down, keeping those muscles engaged so that you aren't pulling on your arm and shoulder joint. You should NEVER feel like it is pulling your shoulder out of socket. 

It will all come with time.  You don't want to move forward to quickly and end up with an injury. There are a lot of other things you can work on like walks, body or hip waves, slides, etc while you are building up the strength to be able to start to do spins.