StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Beginner pushing 50

• Beginner pushing 50

Posted by pink33 on November 9, 2010 at 11:25 pm

Feel a little awkward putting this out there, however after lurking for so long, witnessing the support and comraderie I find myself feeling less intimidated so here I go.

I am pretty new to pole, pushing 50 and not so thin. I LOVE the pole. I go to a different place when I’m dancing, however I find myself getting stuck in my head sometimes with negative self talk; you’re so foolish for this, you’re too old, you’ll never be any good" and then the weight issues "you’re too heavy, you’ll never be able to pull yourself up" etc etc.

Anybody else out there relate?

Judy Jovanelly replied 13 years, 11 months ago 16 Members · 20 Replies
  • 20 Replies
  • Veena

Administrator
    November 9, 2010 at 11:37 pm

You are not alone…..There are a LOT of ladies the pole and are over 50! There are a bunch on this site….hopefully they will see this and introduce themselves. Anyone can pole dance. https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_cheers.gif https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_cheers.gif

• monica kay

November 10, 2010 at 1:32 am

something inside you is drawing you to this art- so you should follow that instinct.
    age is just a number & you can do anything you want to if you put your mind to it.

my mom is always trying to tell me i’m to old to do certain things- for example: when i was in high
    school, she told me i was too old to start pursuing ballet and i WISH I WISH i never listened
    to her. https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_e_sad.gif i love to dance and i regret not following my heart.

shooot… i may go take a ballet class this week, now that i think about it! https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_e_biggrin.gif

• Masked Loopy II

November 10, 2010 at 2:08 am