StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Burlesque competition! Help with ideas!

• Burlesque competition! Help with ideas!

Posted by chumpchkin on August 4, 2011 at 8:08 pm

OMG. So. On the spur of the moment I entered a burlesque competition which is taking place in September. I've NEVER done burlesque before. I've performed a lot, but not this kind of performance! I'm super comfortable with taking off my clothes in front of other people, so that's not a problem, but I definitely need to come up with a routine fast. Oh, and decide on a name. The two names I've been tossing around are Tirami Sue and Pandora Z'Boks, but I'm not married to either of them. (My boyfriend really likes the first one, but then I feel like I'd have to do a very Japanese-inspired routine, and finding music for something like that seems like a daunting challenge.)

For music, I'm thinking about doing Ravel's "Bolero," or even Zappa's version of the same piece, but that would be difficult because the beat never really changes.

Agh. Really any advice would be much appreciated. Thoughts on routines? Do you like either of these names, or do you have other ideas? How should I even go about coming up with a routine? It has to have some kind of a storyline, and that's really throwing me.

Layla Duvay replied 13 years, 1 month ago 4 Members · 5 Replies
  • 5 Replies
  • Layla Duvay

August 4, 2011 at 8:47 pm