StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Can a Pole be too thin?

• Can a Pole be too thin?

Posted by rainbowsstars on October 30, 2013 at 4:55 pm

So, after much research I decided I was going to go for a 45mm X Pole.

I managed to find one on ebay for a good price, which had never been used by its original owner.

However, having got the pole home and got the tape measure out I have discovered that it is actually a 40mm X pole…

I also have an additional problem that makes things a bit more complicated; The ceiling in my house is slightly too low for the standard length X pole, meaning I need to purchase an extra extension to use instead of the B pole so that it will fit- this means that I can’t just put the 40mm up and see how it goes- I’ll need to spend another £35 in order to use the pole (I also need a ceiling mount).

A bit of extra information about me:

I am pretty new to pole dancing, I only started a couple of months ago, but decided I wanted to be able to practice at home in addition to my weekly classes, hence the search for a pole for at home. They have 50mm poles where I have lessons, so that’s all I’ve used so far.

I have medium-ish sized hands, and my fingers overlap slightly on the 40mm.

I’m just worried that the 40mm is too thin for my hands (is such a thing possible?) or that it will feel overly thin compared to the 50mm poles I learn on…

So, the question is; should I keep this pole, or sell it and get the 45mm I wanted?

Veena replied 10 years, 11 months ago 10 Members · 15 Replies
  • 15 Replies
  • Lina Spiralyne

October 30, 2013 at 5:28 pm

It would surprise me very much if you’d find that pole to thin for your hands. It’s easier to squeeze the pole efficiently when it’s not so thick. So on that point I don’t think you need to worry.