StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions How long did it take you…

• How long did it take you…

Posted by Breanne on February 2, 2011 at 6:16 pm

Hello! I'll try to keep this short, as I'm sure most new polers ask, how long does it take to advance? I know it depends on a lot of factors, but how long did it take you?

Were you flexible before? Strong? What helped you most? I've been trying some basic moves just to get my body strength up and a bit leaner, I guess this is the most important part of pole dancing, is strength, let me know your thoughts!

– Breanne

Katherine McKinney replied 13 years, 7 months ago 8 Members · 9 Replies
  • 9 Replies
  • Runemist34

February 2, 2011 at 9:11 pm

Hey hon,

I've been pole dancing off and on for the last 3 or 4 years. It's a long time…and I've not really accomplished much on the "inversion" side of things, let alone any aerial tricks. 

I've got little to no fitness background, and aside from horseback riding a long time ago, I've led a mostly sedentary life. Little flexibility, even littler upper body strength. It took me a long time to understand my limits and I'm still learning about my range of movement, my creative expression with dance, and what works.

However, I'll tell you this: Work out for 45 minutes to an hour. I used to work out all the time for about 30 minutes, and I found that pretty gruelling. I was tired all the time, and workouts became frustrating, I wasn't showing much improvement at all. However, this time, I asked "How long do you work out for?" on the forum, and everyone said they do pole for at LEAST an hour each session. Usually sessions were about 3 times a week. 

I gotta say, changing to an hour was hard, but it's really making a difference. I see myself growing stronger all the time. 🙂

Also, welcome to pole dancing! Trust me, it's an addiction 🙂

• PoleKitten87

February 2, 2011 at 9:21 pm