StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Learning moves on both sides

• Learning moves on both sides

Posted by RubyTuesday on June 13, 2012 at 3:36 pm

Hello all! I am a newbie to this site so *wave* 🙂

I have mastered the invert crucifix however I can only get into it from my left side, I just can’t get enough grip on the right. Is this usual? And do you all find it helps to progress to master moves like this on both sides?

Thanks all!

RubyTuesday replied 12 years, 4 months ago 8 Members · 13 Replies
  • 13 Replies
  • chemgoddess1

June 13, 2012 at 5:18 pm

Welcome!!!

As you progress you will appreciate being able to do moves on both sides.  I know so many people who simply can't and I for one am better on one side than the other and it is not the same for all moves.  It also helps keep you evened out and not overworking one side, which can lead to injuries.

• Kyrsten

June 13, 2012 at 5:58 pm

It is extremely helpful to do it on both sides… for one, sometimes in order to execute a combination you will have to perform a trick on your bad side, and two, it keeps both sides strong and keeps you evened out, which as chemgoddess said, will help prevent injury.

Most people do have a strong side though! I can invert on both sides, but inverting on my right still feels really, really weird even though I've been inverting for forever. It is definitely normal to prefer/be stronger on one side. And I find it varies from trick to trick — some of my handsprings are stronger on my left while others are better on my right, for instance. But always try both sides.

• Kyrsten

June 13, 2012 at 5:58 pm

It is extremely helpful to do it on both sides… for one, sometimes in order to execute a combination you will have to perform a trick on your bad side, and two, it keeps both sides strong and keeps you evened out, which as chemgoddess said, will help prevent injury.