StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Pole fears…. Strength related?

• Pole fears…. Strength related?

Posted by Panix on March 16, 2015 at 1:17 am

Hi everyone! I signed up for Veena’s lessons about a month ago but haven’t really posted anything yet. I have read the forum quite a bit though and love all the information available here!! Everyone seems very helpful and ful of good advice! I am very new to pole, I only started last November. I have been taking lessons at a studio near me, and I just love it!! I see what people mean when they say you get obsessed with pole… It is pretty much all I can think about!!

Unfortunately though, I am moving very soon, to a small town without a pole studio. I am very sad to leave my studio, because I absolutely love going to the lessons! I have no friends that like pole dance, so going to a studio I am able to talk to other people who are interested, and I am afraid just learning from home I am going to get very lonely. I would love to be more active on this site, because it seems like a great place to meet people!

Right now though, I have one question. When I started pole, I had zero upper body strength. I couldn’t even do one push up. And core strength? What was that?? I have loved over the past months seeing the changes to my body, and seeing the new muscles, and realizing how much stronger I have become. However, at my studio we are just starting to get to a bit more advanced moves, specifically moves like cross knee release and super girl. And I know I still have a long way to go strength wise. I love pole dancing, but actually, anything inverted scares me so much!! I have such a great fear of falling and hurting myself badly. Whenever I do the cross knee release, or see the cross ankle release, I picture falling out of it and onto my head or neck.