StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Sitting on the pole

• Sitting on the pole

Posted by Lisa on February 8, 2009 at 8:35 pm

Hi, I’m a newbie, and I’m trying to sit on the pole (just a basic sit). But everytime I do it I slide right down the pole! My legs are quite strong because I’m also a horseback rider, so I don’t think it’s a grip strength issue. My pole is a 50 mm and it isn’t greasy or anything. Is there something I’m missing? https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_scratch.gif All the videos I’ve seen say that the friction between your thighs and the pole will hold you up, but it’s not working for me….

glitterhips replied 15 years, 7 months ago 5 Members · 9 Replies
  • 9 Replies
  • yogabeachbabe

February 8, 2009 at 9:16 pm

I also had problems with sitting on the pole. A couple of things helped me: 1) cleaning the pole, 2) warming up the pole (did lots of spins beforehand), 3) wearing supershort shorts, and 4) internally rotating my thighs. Once I’m there, I sit there until my inner thighs start shaking! I hope this helps a bit. Good luck!

• Lisa

February 8, 2009 at 9:26 pm

I just tried what you suggested about rotating the inner thighs, and it definitely helped! I still can’t grip the pole enough to hold myself up, but maybe that’s just practice? Is it supposed to hurt like hell?

• yogabeachbabe

February 9, 2009 at 2:45 am

I’m sure the advanced girls will have loads of great advice-everyone is really helpful here. But I swear it gets less painful over time. There are lots of times I can’t get that grip with my thighs and I slide right down the way you’re describing. When I REALLY can’t get it, I shrug it off & try again the next day. Sometimes it’s more about your body chemistry and the weather than strength or technique. I’m sure you’ll be writing about your success in no time at all.

• Lisa

February 9, 2009 at 3:24 am