StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Spinning like Sarah Cretul

• Spinning like Sarah Cretul

Posted by spinnygirl on February 20, 2011 at 11:07 am

Hi everyone!  I'm very new to pole dancing but I'm pretty strong and in the intermediate section of studio veena.

I've got a question about spinning-I'm being careful just as veena has instructed but when I watch videos like these with Sarah Cretul:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f-ko6rX76r0&feature=related

I wonder how she is able to spin around the pole with her body angled so far away and doing it with one hand.  How do you grip and how do you build up the speed?  How do you switch hands so you don't end up wrapping around the pole?

Which of the lessons build you up to this level?

This is something I'd love to do but with my current spins, even with my good upper body strength, it seems impossible!

HannahElizabeth replied 13 years, 7 months ago 9 Members · 14 Replies
  • 14 Replies
  • Kobajo84

February 20, 2011 at 11:22 pm

Pole dancing is a completely different form of overall body exercise. Dancers like Sarah have been training their entire life. To get to a desired goal you have to have patience & persistence.  I have had a lot of people with great upper body strength try pole dancing only to discover their strength isn't what they thought it to be when needing to engage certain muscles. It's a process that develops your body over time.  Just stick to your goals & don't rush your body.  Every lesson is a valued learning experience, even the easy ones.

• Runemist34

February 21, 2011 at 1:45 am

I understand your curiosity, and your possible frustration…how can she do that? How does someone build up that kind of strength? Why can't I do that?