StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions What would you like to learn besides pole moves?

• What would you like to learn besides pole moves?

Posted by meaganoff on January 4, 2011 at 12:56 pm

Hey guys– a little informal survey for a project I am working on.

I feel like I want to be involved in the pole community and teaching, and making the world a better place for polers, etc. But I don't know that I want to become a traditional pole instructor.

I keep thinking about the fact that I have a Theatre Degree with specialization in Physical Theatre, have worked as a dialect coach before, and a character movement coach once. I think there is some crossover with theatricality and stage presence and the pole world, and I am thinking of developing some classes based on that.

So my questions to you are:

What do you see in your favorite pole performers that you would like to emulate besides their amazing tricks / athleticism?

What would you like to learn besides pole tricks?

What do you think would be a good supplement to traditional pole fitness classes?

My list of what I see in my favorite performers, and what I love to do on stage w/acting and dance and would like to translate to pole, is as follows so far:

– Confidence
    includes but is not limited to: stage presence, audience connection
    – Character
    includes but is not limited to: character style, i.e., comedic / sexy / dramatic, musical connection, story arc of routine
    – Control
    includes but is not limited to: body awareness, completing / fully extending dance moves, use of strength and flexibility
    – Transitions / Flow
    includes but is not limited to: choreography that fits you, smooth and unique transitions, floor-to-pole work

I also have exotic dance and burlesque training / background as well, wouldn't mind rolling that into there as well…somehow…