StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Help with inverted v!

• Help with inverted v!

Posted by Vangel on December 3, 2016 at 12:11 pm

Hi! I’ve been poling for about 5 months and am in an intermediate class with an inverted v in the routine. I have been inverting (basic) for two months but I cannot for the life of me get the inverted v! I know what to do, hands no higher than eye level, pull up, engage muscles and core, turn on back, hips up and tuck, pull pole into armpit, tip back, pull pelvis in the the pole, head down, look back, imagine your feet going up, I know all the things I’m supposed to be doing, but my body just won’t do it! Could it be I’m just not strong enough yet?

Vangel replied 7 years, 3 months ago 3 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • Runemist34

December 3, 2016 at 3:28 pm

Hey there!
    It sounds like you have the basics down, and if you’ve been inverting normally for a while, then you are definitely working toward it!
    But, my main question is, are you able to do a tuck invert? Basically, this would be the same invert you are doing, just with a deadlift, instead of the most basic invert which includes some momentum with a swing of the leg!
    Transitioning into a tuck invert includes things like having both feet “in front” of the pole, set slightly wider than hip’s-distance apart. You’ll assume the position as normal (shoulders down, pole right up in your armpit business, etc), and then you bring your knees up. Think of it like bringing the knees up into the shoulders, and tilt back!